Austin Theft Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with either misdemeanor or felony theft in Austin, TX, Erin Shinn is waiting to hear about your case. There are many different degrees of theft that you can be charged with in the state of Texas, depending on a variety of factors that played a role in the event and subsequent arrest. Regardless of the circumstances, charges, or degree, Erin Shinn is experienced in criminal defense in Austin, and looks forward to discussing your case further.
Read more below about the varying degrees and specifics about theft law in Texas and the potential penalties that come with each. Please be aware that the list of theft charges below does not represent the entirety of the penal code regarding theft law in the state of Texas.
Misdemeanor Theft Charges
Texas defines misdemeanor theft charges as charges relating to any theft under the amount of $1,500, and is further broken down into three different classifications. Below are these classifications, and the associated maximum penalties for each:
Class C Misdemeanor Theft
This is the lowest charge of theft in Texas, and is applicable for any theft that totals to less than $100 in value. There is a maximum penalty of $500, and there is no jail time associated with this charge.
Class B Misdemeanor Theft
Theft is designated as Class B if the value of the stolen property is between $100 and $750. The maximum associated penalties for a Class B misdemeanor theft is $2,000 in fines, 180 days in jail, or a combination of the two.
Class A Misdemeanor Theft
A Class A misdemeanor theft is applied if the value of property stolen is between $750 and $2,500. The maximum jail time for a Class A charge is a year in jail, $4,000 in fines, or a combination of the two.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor theft in Texas, contact the Law Office of Erin Shinn today to speak with attorney Shinn of Austin.
Felony Theft Charges
Theft law in Austin defines a felony theft as anything above a value of $1,500, and is subdivided into four different categories that each have various associated penalties. Criminal defense attorney Erin Shinn of experience with criminal defense law in Austin, and will be happy to discuss your case. Read more about felony theft below:
Felony Theft – State Jail
If you’re accused of stealing between $2,500 and $30,000 in property or services, you will be subject to a maximum of two years in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, or both.
A third degree felony theft is for the theft of goods or services valued between $30,000 and $150,000. This charge carries the maximum penalties of 10 years in prison, and fines up to $10,000.
Second degree felony theft is applied when the stolen goods or services are valued between $150,000 and $300,000. The maximum penalties for this charge are 20 years in Texas prison, and up to $10,000 of fines.
First degree felony theft charges relate to the theft of goods or services in excess of $300,000, and carries the highest possible penalties. The maximum prison sentence for these charges are 99 years, in addition to possible fines of up to $10,000.
Contact Erin Shinn Today
If you have been charged with theft in any capacity, contact Erin Shinn today. She will be happy to discuss the details of your case, and determine the appropriate next steps for your defense. Attorney Shinn looks forward to discussing your situation as soon as possible.
Other Criminal Defense Practice Areas